In what life was crude and simple, San Mateo has developed into one of the progressive towns of Isabela. First named as "Marasat", it was aformet barangay of Cauayan, then Santiago. It was called the Municipality of Yoshisawa under the government of the Japanese Imperial Army during the Second World War. After the liberation, it was finally created and named San Mateo by virtue of Presidential Executive Order No. 97 on March 17, 1946 by former President Sergio Osmena. Recently proclaimed as the Agro-Ecological Destination in Cagayan Valley by President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo by virtue of Presidential Proclamation No. 1685 dated December 1, 2008.


Date Founded March 17, 1946
Legal Basis of Creation Presidential Executive Order No. 97 by Pres. Sergio Osmeña 
Declaration of the municipality as the Agro-Ecological City in Cagayan Valley Presidential Proclamation No. 1685, Dec.1, 2008 
Declaration of the municipality as the Munggo Capital of the Philippines Administrative Order No. 23, Series of 2011 by Agriculture Sec. Proceso J. Alcala
Classification First Class (July 29, 2008) 
Land Area  12, 059.83 hectares

60, 792 (NSO 2010)

65,976 (Projected 2015) 

No. of Households 

13, 984 (NSO 2010)

15, 167 (Projected 2015)

Annual Income  PhP 141, 598, 488.25 (Actual 2014)
IRA  PhP 109, 396, 109.00 (2015) 
No. of Barangays  33 
No. of Registered Voters  30, 699 (COMELEC 2015) 
Date of Festivities

March 17 - Town Fiesta

September 21 - Patronal Fiesta

1st week of May - Munggo Festival

Major Products

Rice, Munggo, Corn, Vegetables, Fruits and Root Crops, Livestock and Poultry Products and Munggo Processed-Products


Back to Top